Town News Center

Home Page News Flash Box

Posted on: October 29, 2020

Jack Burney Community Service Award Committee Extending Nominations

Burney Award

The Town of Davidson's Jack Burney Community Service Award Committee is extending its nomination deadline through February 28, 2021.  Due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions and how they impact the size of indoor gatherings, the town wants to be sure that the recipient is honored with the same dignity as in years past.

Mayor Rusty Knox noted that "this award, and the significance of earning it, goes way beyond convenience.  I want the award recipient to know that Davidson residents sincerely appreciate the impact the winner has had on the town and those who live here."  An alternate ceremony will be held sometime in the spring of 2021 when it is safer for family, friends, and others to gather.

The award honors G. Jackson Burney and those who improve the Davidson community through unselfish service over a lifetime. The annual award has previously been presented in late November or early December.

Jack was a true friend of Davidson. He led a life dedicated to improving the quality of life for all around him, and that was especially true in his dealings with the town. In his professional life, Burney helped to create the Charlotte Census tracts for the U.S. Department of Commerce, and he managed the Charlotte Chamber Economic Development program for ten years. He was a White House delegate to a conference on Balanced Growth and Economic Development and a technical advisor to the North Carolina Governor’s Conference on Balanced Growth.

In his personal time, Jack founded the Town Message and published several other newsletters, including one for the downtown Davidson organization. Jack provided support for town initiatives by volunteering his organizational, critical analysis, and leadership skills.

More information is available on our website at Nomination forms are available online here. The deadline for submissions is February 28, 2021 at which time all nominees, those who have already been submitted this fall and those submitted through the extended deadline, will be considered by the committee.

Previous winners include:
2019 - Missy and John Kuykendall
2018 - Tony Abbott
2017 - Bill Giduz
2016 - Garfield Carr
2015 - Leamon Brice
2014 - Connie and Eddie Beach
2013 - Pam Maier
2012 - Jean Jackson and Sterling Martin
2011 - Leland Park
2010 - Ralph Quackenbush
2009 - Jane Ellithorpe
2008 - John & Paula Kelton
2007 - Scotty Nicholls
2006 - Baxter & John Fisher and Evelyn Carr & Annie Mildred Lowery
2005 - William B. Mayhew
2004 - Bernice Houston

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home Page News Flash Box

2015Jamie Justice photo

Manager's Report: February 23, 2021

Posted on: February 25, 2021
2015Jamie Justice photo

Manager's Report: February 11, 2021

Posted on: February 12, 2021

NC Moves to Phase 3 Today

Posted on: October 2, 2020
Fall 2020 Events graphic

Fall Town of Davidson Events Update

Posted on: September 22, 2020

Davidson Businesses Thrive Online!

Posted on: April 20, 2020

Help Recognize Our Gnome Town Heroes

Posted on: March 31, 2020
2020 Mayor Knox


Posted on: March 19, 2020